Doritos, an American brand of flavored tortilla chips has a wide range of highly irresistible nacho chips.
Even though they are termed as junk food, they’re a popular snack across the globe due to its addictive taste, crunch, and distinct savory flavor.  
No matter whether you had your food or not, you will drool over the Doritos at any time of the day!
However, those who have celiac disease or gluten allergy may wonder whether Doritos are truly gluten-free.
Are Doritos Gluten-Free?
The Doritos “Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips” is qualified as gluten-free and even though several other flavors of Doritos come as gluten-free they are not good to be consumed by those who have celiac disease.
They can be consumed by those who do not have a gluten allergy and follow a gluten-free diet as a lifestyle choice.
This article will discuss whether Doritos can be included in a gluten-free diet or not.
What is Gluten?
Gluten is a type of protein that is usually found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye. Though it does not cause any side effects in the majority of people, it can lead to serious health problems in some individuals.  
The body of individuals who suffer from celiac disease triggers an auto-immune response whenever they eat food that contains gluten. This auto-immune response causes intestinal lining damage.
If you are suffering from celiac disease or has gluten intolerance (non-coeliac gluten sensitivity), even a small amount of gluten can cause harmful effects. In such cases, a gluten-free diet is a great choice to prevent problems.  
The gluten-free diet is popular among a large population because it prevents the allergic reaction caused by eating gluten-rich food. 
Digesting gluten is not a major issue for most people but for those who have gluten sensitivity, eating gluten-rich food can lead to gas, bloating and fatigue.
Also, those who have celiac disease can experience the activation of an immune system that attacks the healthy cells in the body. This results in serious side effects like diarrhea, weight loss, and various nutritional deficiencies. 
Gluten occurs naturally in the grains so the food products that made using these grains like bread, cakes, pasta, cereals, and chips typically contain gluten.
Doritos, a brand from chips owned by PepsiCo (Sold under FritoLay) is not an exception to have the gluten.
DORITOS® Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips is termed as a gluten-free product while remaining products of Doritos are termed as ‘Not containing gluten ingredients’. (source)
Though both terms seem to have the same meaning, they are used to denote different things.
As per the guidelines provided by the FDA, food products labeled as “gluten-free”, “free from gluten”, “without gluten”, and “no-gluten” must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. 
This level of gluten can be detected using scientifically validated analytical methods and usually tolerated well by the people who have Celiac disease.
Gluten-free Doritos –
Doritos Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
(Shop these Doritos from Amazon)
Doritos Not containing gluten ingredients –
Doritos Blaze Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
Doritos Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Flamin’ Hot Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Flavor Shots Fiery Habanero Triangles
Doritos Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Poppin’ Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips
Doritos Ultimate Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
Are Doritos Bad for You?
Though a large number of people tolerate Doritos without any problem, there are few other things needs to be considered before you eat Doritos.
1. It has genetically modified corn
Doritos and many other chips available in many tastes and to achieve these tastes several additives needs to be added to the chips. 
The corn that added to the chips is genetically modified and it also has mono-sodium glutamate (MSG), sugar and slat which makes them a tasty treat but equally unhealthy to eat.
2. Can make you overweight
Whether you choose Doritos or any other chips in the market, they will provide an abundance of calories, fats, and carbohydrates, a perfect recipe for weight gain.
To avoid weight gain, you should eat them moderately.
3. May trigger chronic inflammation
Munching daily on the chips that are made using the genetically modified organism, chemical additives, salt, and sugar can trigger the process of chronic inflammation in the human body.
Chronic inflammation can be a cause for several health problems likes arthritis, diabetes, celiac disease, body pain, etc.
These kinds of chips also use the dye, flavoring chemicals, and partially hydrogenated oils which make them unsuitable to the kids.
4. They are fried in oils
Doritos are fried in vegetable oils like canola oil, sunflower oil, and soy oil.
Though these oils are largely consumed otherwise, Doritos are fried in commercially processed oils which make them oxidative which leads to free radicals.
What is healthy gluten-free snack?
If you are suffering from celiac disease or choose to live a gluten-free lifestyle then munching on Doritos is not a viable option.
Thankfully, there are several other healthy snack items available that you can give a try. They are gluten-free, nutritious and will help you stay healthy.
Here are nutritious yet quick to prepare gluten-free snacks:
- Popcorns and peanuts
- Fruits and nuts like an apple, banana, walnuts, etc.
- The green salad that includes cucumber, tomato, beetroot, etc.
- Cucumber – hummus sandwiches
- Granola with a yogurt parfait
- Vegetable soups
- Egg salad
Doritos Nutrition Facts
Here is the nutritional value of Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips:
The Bottom Line
Most lines of Doritos flavored chips contain some amount of gluten. The only chips from Doritos that termed gluten-free are ‘Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips’ which contain less than 20 PPM gluten which considered as safe for people suffering from celiac disease.
Though they are well tolerated, if you have gluten sensitivity, you should avoid eating the Doritos chips.
Affiliate Disclaimer: wellnessfacts.net may receive a portion of the revenues (at no more cost to you) if you make a purchase using one of the links above.
Alexandra Sifferlin, Top 10 Iconic Junk Foods. http://content.time.com
 Why Doritos are so darned addictive? https://nypost.com
 Antonio Di Sabatino, Prof Gino Roberto Corazza. Coeliac disease. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(09)60254-3
 Shewry PR, Halford NG, Belton PS, Tatham AS. The structure and properties of gluten: an elastic protein from wheat grain. doi: 10.1098/rstb.2001.1024
 Elli L, Branchi F, Tomba C, Villalta D, Norsa L, Ferretti F, Roncoroni L, Bardella MT. Diagnosis of gluten related disorders: Celiac disease, wheat allergy and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. doi: 10.3748/wjg.v21.i23.7110
 Shewry PR, Hey SJ. Do we need to worry about eating wheat? doi: 10.1111/nbu.12186
 Mansueto P, Seidita A, D’Alcamo A, Carroccio A. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: literature review. doi: 10.1080/07315724.2014.869996
 Mucosal Biology Research Center and Center for Celiac Research, University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore. Spectrum of gluten-related disorders: consensus on new nomenclature and classification. doi: 10.1186/1741-7015-10-13
 Gluten and Food Labeling. Available from: https://www.fda.gov
DeeAnne Oldham, Dr. Becky Maes. Are Doritos Bad For You? Available from: https://www.isitbadforyou.com/questions/are-doritos-bad-for-you